Online Booking

Book now

History of Hotel An der Gruga
Renaissance of a small economic miracle

Entirely renovated between 2008 and 2012, you can barely tell it ever happened just by looking at Hotel An der Gruga. For sure, though, it reflects the eventful history of an economic miracle in the post-war era. In this case it is the tale of Hans and Änne Weber. Receiving a settlement for their farm that made way as the coal mines spread, the farming couple invested the money in a plot of land and its ruined building close to the trade fair in Essen-Rüttenscheid, where on 1 June 1956 they opened Hotel An der Gruga with 18 rooms at DM7.50 per night. Anyone wanting breakfast paid an additional DM2.50 and winter guests were asked to fork out 1DM for heating.

The number of guests in the first few years left a bit to be desired and developed so slowly that in 1958, the hotel's founders were all but willing to sell the house to a lotto winner for what at the time was the inconceivable amount of DM 250,000.

But it's not so easy to turn your back on your life's work. The sale was stopped, the numbers of guests finally rose and after two happy decades, the house was passed on to Jürgen Weber, the youngest of five children, and his wife Gertraut. And while the second generation set about modernising and expanding the business to 39 rooms, our current Hotel Proprietor Matthias Weber was warming up to take over his parent's business by qualifying and advancing his career in Düsseldorf, Munich, New York and San Francisco. He finally took the helm in 1999.

But he still had time for his own business. He acquired Hotel Maximillians, located in the same neighbourhood, in 2006, merging the two houses to form wbw-Hotels (Weber Business and Weekend Hotels).

And so a new chapter in family Weber's small economic miracle drew to a close when the major renovation of Hotel An der Gruga was completed. Others are sure to follow!

Online-Buchung

Jetzt buchen

Geschichte des Hotels An der Gruga
Renaissance für ein kleines Wirtschaftswunder

Man sieht es unserem modernen – zwischen 2008 und 2012 komplett umgebauten – Hotel an der Gruga kaum noch an. Aber in der Tat steckt in ihm die ereignisreiche Geschichte eines Wirtschaftswunders der Nachkriegszeit. In diesem Fall ist es jene von Hans und Änne Weber. Das Landwirts-Ehepaar investierte die Abfindung für ihren einer Zeche gewichenen Hof in ein messenahes Trümmergrundstück in Essen-Rüttenscheid und eröffnete dort am 1. Juni 1956 das Hotel An der Gruga mit 18 Zimmern zum Preis von 7,50 DM pro Nacht. Weitere 2,50 DM wurden für das Frühstück fällig und wer im Winter übernachtete, zahlte einen Heizkostenzuschlag von 1 DM.

Die Auslastung der ersten Jahre ließ zu wünschen übrig und entwickelte sich so langsam, dass das Gründerehepaar 1958 kurz davor war, das Haus für den damaligen Fabelbetrag von 250.000 DM an einen Lottogewinner zu veräußern.

Doch so einfach gibt man sein Lebenswerk nicht auf. Der Verkauf wurde abgeblasen, die Belegung stieg endlich an und nach zwei glücklichen Jahrzehnten konnte das Haus an Jürgen Weber, das jüngste von fünf Kindern, und seine Frau Gertraut übergeben werden. Während die zweite Generation den Betrieb laufend modernisierte und auf 39 Zimmer erweiterte, lief sich der heutige Inhaber Matthias Weber mit Ausbildungs- und Karrierestationen in Düsseldorf, München, New York und San Francisco für die Übernahme des elterlichen Betriebes „warm“, in den er schließlich 1999 eintrat.

Daneben hatte er noch Zeit für eigene Geschäfte, übernahm 2006 das Hotel Maximilians im selben Stadtteil und führte beide Häuser als wbw-Hotels (Weber Business und Weekend Hotels) zusammen.

Mit dem Abschluss der Komplettsanierung des Hotels An der Gruga vollendete das kleine Wirtschaftswunder der Familie Weber ein weiteres Kapitel, das ganz bestimmt nicht das letzte sein wird!